• Madeleine Albright

    Madeleine Albright is Chair of Albright Stonebridge Group, a global strategy firm, and Chair of Albright Capital Management LLC, an investment advisory firm focused on emerging markets. Dr. Albright was the 64th Secretary of State of the United States. In 1997, she was named the first female Secretary of State and became, at that time, … Continued

  • Ibrahim Gambari

    Ambassador Ibrahim Gambari, a scholar-diplomat, is currently the Founder/Chairman of Savannah Center in Abuja, Nigeria, a think-tank for research, training and public policy debate on the nexus between diplomacy (conflict resolution), democracy and development in Africa. His last assignment at the United Nations was as the Joint Special Representative of the Secretary General and Chairperson of the … Continued


  • Haifa Fahoum Al Kaylani

    Mrs. Haifa Fahoum Al Kaylani, Founder Chairman, Arab International Women’s Forum is well known in international government and business circles as a high-impact change agent focusing on leadership in cultural and gender issues. An economist and graduate of the American University of Beirut and Oxford University, Mrs. Al Kaylani holds senior roles in several cultural, … Continued

  • Celso Amorim

    Ambassador Celso Amorim is former Brazilian Minister of Defense, under President Rousseff. He was Brazil’s Minister of External Relations from 1993 to 1994, under President Itamar Franco, and from 2003 to 2010, under President Lula da Silva. As a career diplomat, Celso Amorim was Permanent Representative of Brazil to the UN, GATT and the Conference … Continued

  • Lloyd Axworthy

    Dr. Lloyd Axworthy is the Chancellor of St. Paul’s University in Waterloo, Ontario. He also serves as Board Chair of CUSO International, a Canadian based international development agency. Until recently he was the President, and Vice Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg. In his ten years as President, he pioneered community learning programs for Aboriginal and … Continued

  • Yoriko Kawaguchi

    Professor Yoriko Kawaguchi is a former Member of the House of Councilors for the Liberal Democratic Party from 2005 to 2013. She was Special Adviser to the Prime Minister of Japan on foreign affairs from 2004 to 2005; Minister for Foreign Affairs from 2002 to 2004 and Minister of the Environment from 2000 to 2002. … Continued

  • Jane Holl Lute

    Dr. Jane Holl Lute is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Council on CyberSecurity, responsible for the overall direction and activities of the organization. Dr. Lute most recently served as Deputy Secretary for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). As the Department’s chief operating officer, Dr. Lute was responsible for the day-to-day management … Continued

  • Asha-Rose Migiro

    Dr. Asha-Rose Migiro is Minister for Constitutional and Legal Affairs of Tanzania and former Deputy-Secretary-General of the United Nations (2007-2012). Dr. Migiro also served as Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation from 2006-2007. Before then she was Minister for Community Development, Gender and Children for five years. As Foreign Minister, Dr. Migiro spearheaded Tanzania’s engagement … Continued

  • José Antonio Ocampo

    Professor José Antonio Ocampo is Director of the Economic and Political Development Concentration in the School of International and Public Affairs, Member of the Committee on Global Thought and co-President of the Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia University. He is also the Chair of the Committee for Development Policy, an expert committee of the … Continued

  • Shyam Saran

    Ambassador Shyam Saran is a former Foreign Secretary of India and has served as the Prime Minister’s Special Envoy for Nuclear Affairs and Climate Change. He is currently Chairman of the National Security Advisory Board and the Research and Information System for Developing Countries. He is a Senior Fellow at the Centre for Policy Research. … Continued

  • Michael Schaefer

    Dr. Michael Schaefer is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt. He studied law and joined the German Foreign Service in 1978. Among others he has held the positions of Permanent Representative at the German Embassy in Singapore (1987-1991), head of the Political Affairs Section at the German Permanent Mission … Continued

  • Jozias van Aartsen

    Jozias Johannes van Aartsen is the Mayor of The Hague. In this capacity, he chairs the Municipal Council and the Municipal Executive (college van burgemeester en wethouders). The mayor of The Hague is responsible for the portfolio of public order and safety. Mayors in the Netherlands are not elected but are appointed by the King. … Continued

  • Erna Witoelar

    Erna Witoelar is the former Indonesian Minister of Human Settlements and Regional Development (1999-2001), former UN Special Ambassador for Millennium Development Goals in Asia Pacific (2003-2007), and a former Commissioner of the Commission for Legal Empowerment of the Poor (2005-2008). She founded the Indonesian Environmental Forum and has served as President of the Indonesian Consumer … Continued

  • Wu Jianmin

    Ambassador Wu is currently the Executive Vice Chairman of the China Institute for Innovation and Development Strategy, Special Researcher of the Counselor’s Office of the State Council, Member of the Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry, Member and Vice President of the European Academy of Sciences, and Honorary President of the International … Continued

Ex-Officio Members

  • Ellen Laipson

    Ellen Laipson is president and chief executive officer of Stimson. She also directs the Middle East/Southwest Asia program, which covers issues including Gulf security and the strategic repercussions of the Arab transitions. Laipson joined Stimson in 2002, after 25 years of government service. Her last post was Vice Chair of the National Intelligence Council (1997-2002). … Continued

  • Abiodun Williams

    Dr. Abiodun Williams was appointed the first President of The Hague Institute for Global Justice on January 1, 2013. From 2011 to 2012 he served as Senior Vice President of the Center for Conflict Management at the United States Institute of Peace (USIP) in Washington, DC. He led USIP’s work in major conflict zones such … Continued